Previous Stage 6 syllabus resources

The study of English is compulsory in Stage 6. There are a number of options for students to choose a level of English best suited to their ability and vocational or future study needs.

  • English (Standard)
  • English (Advanced)
  • English extension
  • English as a second language (ESL)
  • Fundamentals of English (to support either Standard or ESL)
  • English studies (content endorsed course)

The following NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) documents provide detailed information about the various English subjects, text requirements for each and the prescribed texts for the HSC from 2015 to 2020.

Return to top of page Back to top